A Promise Kept..

I swore that I would have a horse again before I died, and that I would be riding on my 40th birthday, I just didn’t know that it would be on my own horse!

This is Brandy, a lovely draft cross seven year old mare, she joined our family in aug of 2012, she is a Clyde/TB cross, she was broke to ride and drive when I got her, having said that as with all horse’s and new owners, you typically end up retraining each other to form and creating a working bond.

Brandy was both a suprise “Here I am” moment and at the same time she was also very much a Promise Kept. I was raised in a horse family, had horse’s from the time I was so little I can’t remember but have the pictures to prove it, riding right up into my twenties where I meet my hubby and work took us up into the arctic of canada, we moved down into ontario and got our small farm, this was a huge leap of faith for my hubby, and while we had a big barn and outbuildings, we had no fencing or cross fencing which has take a good while to get it to where it is today.

Once I felt that the timing on the farm was right for a horse, I had a few things to overcome, the first being that i had gotten very heavy(overweight) and didn’t know if i could still ride safely at this weight or not. The second thing to overcome was to find the horse that could meet all the things I wanted from it, I had a list as long as my arm on what I wanted and one just as long on what I didn’t want..

I went riding for the first time in a long time in the spring of 2011 in the cypress hills area of Sask and I can’t tell you just how amazing that was to do it after that many years! T is a local to me and she has horses and offered to let me go riding this spring, a delight to the sense and a huge boost to the fact that, yes I could still get on an ride..

Fate would bring Brandy across my path, you see I had told T all the things I wanted in a horse and she came a knocking to say, she might have the horse for me, and boy was she right!  Needless to say it was a long and crazy week or so of getting it all figured out and then she was home on the farm..

This blog is going to cover any and all aspects of Brandy, living with a horse, training a horse, horse care, riding, and draft use, small farm draft horse use, lots and lots of photos, and links to video’s, Starting to ride again mid-life,  the journey of a heavy gal learning to ride after many years of not being in the saddle, clinics and trail rides..

Come join me on the journey if you want!

This entry was posted in Brandy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Promise Kept..

  1. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    Congratulations…
    For giving it a go again.
    For finding each other.
    For being who you are,
    where you are, all the time.
    So very glad to be here on your inaugural post! Piles of hugs ‘n carrots; ) Deb.

  2. whiskeytangofoxtrot4.wordpress.com says:

    your horse is beautiful….I also have a similar story.. my “first” horse after many leases was also a surprise for my 42 birthday!!! … best day of my life..

Leave a Reply

