Learning to lunge on a line..

Well, today’s lesion went so so much better then yesterday’s, first because he has a better idea of what I am asking for, and he did quite well, second he just seemed to have more pep today..

However the real reason it went as well as it did, is that I didn’t take brandy away this time, I did it in the main field and I did him first, and she went with him loose but matched him on the outside and when I asked him to turn, she would turn, so in a way, she showed him the ropes.. then she kinda backed off and just watched as I did him, then I called her over and switched them out, and he watched her and even trotted and at one point galloped up and past her in play..

this was awesome as it continued his workout, got both of them awake and up to go and at the same time, worked great because both had to listen to me on the other end of the line at the same time.. its was a win-win, that left a big smile on my face..

Lots to learn for sure but for the second day on a lunge line (and I know that he has not been worked that way for at least a year and no idea before that if it was done or not, but unlikely)

Brandy was showing him how it was done! he watched with interest, that’s for sure.

This entry was posted in mom's big old guy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Learning to lunge on a line..

  1. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    AWESOME! Sounds to me like he’s going to be coming TO you (and the rope; ) in no time flat…

    • Yes, I agree, its been decided that he will be staying till spring and so we are going to bond, I would have not wanted to work that bond if he was leaving in a month or so, but if he is going to be here for six months or so, and as it was pointed out, I am so close to my mom in so many ways that it should not be to hard to switch it over afterwards, I hope that will indeed be the case..

      • Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

        Easier for him perhaps…
        But what about you?

      • Harder for me, but his needs must come first, and he really could use a bit of a extra care before taking such a long trip west, I most likely could make what mom and dad want to happen in a month or two but none of us want him to ship out in the cold.. so as they say, it is what it is 🙂

      • Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

        Yes, it makes a lot of sense…
        Perhaps it’d be easier on everybody if you’d found the mount for DH by then too? (I know, that’s not asking much, hey?; )

      • I need to call and confirm that my hay supplier had enough hay for me, and that is good.

      • Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

        LOL! Did I just remind you? Or had you already gotten the confirmation?: )
        He really is a beauty, y’know. Can’t wait to see what a difference it makes after the ferrier’s done with him…

Leave a Reply

