Treat vs the meds..

Its the time of year for a de-worming, everyone on the farm has been getting done, and it was time for Caleb, and he is such a good boy about getting his wormer.. dscn0140

Normally, I catch them, and put them in the cross ties and he takes his like gold and then I would have the fight with Brandy and finally we would be done..

Tonight when I went to take out with apples and carrots, I thought, can I make this even more about teamwork.. and can he give it to me freely.

He came on the trot when I called him from two fields away.. and wanted pats, and some carrot, then I gave him a apple and more love and then I showed him the wormer, its clear from his smelling it that he knew what it was and he just lifted his head away when I asked him to give me his muzzle, so I just asked nicely and talked and petted and then I would ask him again to give me is mouth into my hand so that I could give him his meds..  on the second ask, he asked for his treat, and I said.. muzzle and he blew out and put his muzzle in my hand, took his meds over the fence line, totally yielding to it with no pressure or force in anyway, he got love and more apple and carrots and a hug and snuggle..

It was a great moment for me.. so nice to just be able to be calm, steady and to be able to ask and have it meet with grace.. Go Boy Caleb..

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

